2 thoughts on “Career changes that fizzle out; second acts aren’t always so great

  1. This article is a wonderful cautionary tale about understanding what truly motivates and sustains you and challenges the job-changer to keep eyes wide open. I like the analogies that the contributors used and will add one more of my own–the “rebound job.”

    Much like a rebound relationship, taking the rebound job is grabbing at something to take the place of what was lost or missing. It SEEMS like a fit, perhaps because of factors that have everything to do with YOU and not so much to do with the job.

    Good “rebounders,” whether in sports or life, move quickly–maybe TOO quickly in the case of a job. Depending on the personal investment of time, effort or funds, this is a time to examine not only the opportunity but your own motivations for making the change.

    This story resonated with me and I am living with 20/20 hindsight in my (hopefully short) second act but I loved reading about people that have experienced the same crazy situation I am managing right now. Second acts may not be so great–but usually there is a third act to resolve the dramatic complications! Deus ex machina, anyone??

  2. I concur with the article; running away from what you believe is misery to what you believe could be bliss will not make you happy if you have not figured out who you are and what you need. Notice I did not say what you want. Wants are very seldom satisfying because the effort and energy put forth to achieve the want typically is more exciting than the accomplishments if you do not link your wants with your needs. I have also learned the hard way but I did indeed learn. Every experience, good or bad should be a learning experience. Because if it’s not; you’ve wasted a value learning opportunity and your time.

Leave a comment